BJP expels state party leaders amid the assembly polls! Here's why

Amid the ongoing three-phased assembly polls in Assam, BJP had on Sunday expelled seven leaders from the primary membership of the party under the grounds that they had decided to contest independently in the assembly polls after being denied a ticket to contest in the polls. 

The development has come when the Northeastern state has done with its first phase of the election, which was held last Saturday. The state ruling BJP aims to retain the power by forming a new government for the second consecutive time. The party is contesting the polls by forming an alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People's Party Liberal (UPPL). 

Assam polls hold cruciality as winning the state would significantly raise the party's base in Northeast India. Assam has 126 seats in its assembly and BJP is contesting in 92 seats while the rest of seats were allotted to the allied parties. However, on the other hand, some of the BJP leaders had expressed disappointments after they weren't provided with the party's ticket to contest in the polls.

They had decided to contest independently in the polls against the BJP. After the development, the BJP has on Sunday expelled seven leaders from the primary membership of the party for six years as they have decided to contest independently. 

In a statement, Assam BJP General Secretary Rajdeep Roy said, "The state party president Ranjeet Kumar Dass has expelled the seven persons for six years with immediate effect for contesting as independents against the party's nominated candidates". The development of expelling seven leaders had come two days ahead of the second phase of the polling in the state. 

It must be noted that earlier on March 18, the Assam BJP had expelled 15 leaders, including former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, from the party for six years for joining the assembly poll fray as independents after being denied tickets. The first phase of polling in Assam had held last Saturday and the state had recorded a 76% turnout in Assam. The state would go into the second and final phases of voting on April 1 and April 6 respectively. The votes will be counted on May 2, during which the results will be announced.