DMK cadres celebrate as Udhayanidhi Stalin wins the second term as the party's youth wing chief!

DMK cadres across Tamil Nadu have been celebrating the latest development in the party where DMK MLA Udhayanidhi Stalin has won the second term as the secretary of the party's youth wing, which is vital body of the party. On Wednesday- November 23, the DMK leadership has announced the appointments of key party roles after the party's internal election. 

In an official announcement of new office bearers, DMK's General Secretary Durai Murugan said that Udhayanidhi Stalin has been reappointed as the party's youth wing secretary. Senior DMK leader Helen Davidson has been appointed as the women's wing secretary, the post that was held by DMK MP Kanimozhi. The change for this role was warranted after Kanimozhi was appointed as a DMK's Deputy General Secretary. 

Vijaya Thayanban has been appointed as DMK's women's wing president. The party has also appointed nine deputy secretaries namely - Joel, Ilaiyaraja, Ragupathi, Abdul Malik, Prakash, Prabhu, Srinivasan, Raja, and Ananthakumar. Several members were appointed to the Women's Wing for different teams including campaign committee, social media, and advisory committee. 

Udhayanidhi Stalin first became the DMK's Youth Wing secretary in 2019, replacing MP Saminathan, who is currently serves as the Tamil Nadu Minister for Information and Publicity. The post of Youth Wing secretary was held by Udhayanidhi's father and Chief Minister MK Stalin for a very long time. As a Youth Wing secretary, Udhayanidhi will go ahead with challenging times, leading an important arm of DMK during the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. 

After being appointed for the second term, Udhayanidhi Stalin met MK Stalin and Duraimurugan to express his gratitude. Taking to Twitter, Udhayanidhi wrote, "Expressed my gratitude for being given the opportunity to serve as youth wing secretary for the second time and sought blessings from MK Stalin who fostered the youth wing for 40 years." 

As the news of Udhayanidhi's reappointment drawn huge attention, several party cadres celebrated the event. In Villupuram, hundreds of party cadres led by Tamil Nadu Higher Education Minister Ponmudy burst crackers and distributed sweets to the people to celebrate Udhayanidhi's new innings. The visuals of the celebration have been going viral on social media. 

On October 9, MK Stalin was elected as the DMK president. He was elected unopposed and on the same day, DMK MP Kanimozhi was appointed as DMK's Deputy General Secretary, after the exit of Subbulakshmi Jagadeeshan. Senior leaders Durai Murugan and TR Baalu were elected as General Secretary and Treasurer respectively.