Edappadi Palaniswami resigns as Tamil Nadu CM, congratulates his successor MK Stalin!

As his four-year-long regime comes to an end, Tamil Nadu's accidental Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami has on Monday offered his resignation and stepped down from the post to make way for his successor MK Stalin. The DMK-led alliance has attained a remarkable victory in the Tamil Nadu assembly polls and Stalin is all set to become the Chief Minister for the first time. 

Tamil Nadu has gone through the crucial assembly polls on April 6 and the votes were counted on Sunday and ever since the counting began, the DMK alliance was in the leading and the leading had widened when the counting advanced to the next phases. The trend remained with the DMK alliance leading in 159 seats, 40 seats more than the majority mark of 118, while the ADMK was leading in the rest of the constituencies. As there was no light for the ADMK to hold the lead, it was confirmed that the DMK has won the election. 

MK Stalin has won his first election as the DMK President and has become the Chief Minister-elect of Tamil Nadu. The reports have on Monday said that Stalin will be swearing-in as the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on May 7 in Raj Bhavan. As Stalin is inching closer to form the new government, Edappadi Palaniswami has on Monday moved his resignation from the Chief Ministerial post and congratulates his successor MK Stalin for winning the state.

According to reports, Edappadi Palaniswami is in Salem and he has submitted his resignation to Governor Banwarilal Purohit online in which he has said that he will be stepping down from the post to make way for the incoming administration. After moving his resignation, the outgoing Chief Minister has also commended MK Stalin for his spectacular victory in the assembly polls. 

Taking to Twitter, Edappadi Palaniswami said, "I convey my best wishes to MK Stalin who is going to swear in as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu." Stalin has been flooded by the wishes from the national leaders and celebrities and it has been reported that the DMK will convene the meeting at Anna Arivalayam on Tuesday in which will be attended by all the newly elected party MLAs. During the meeting, the party MLAs will be endorsing and electing MK Stalin as the party leader in the Legislative assembly through which he will seek Governor's consent to form the new government with majority numbers. 

Stalin will be swearing-in as the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on May 7 and with only three days ahead for the swearing-in ceremony,  Stalin will be finalizing his cabinet and who will be inducted as the ministers. On the other hand, though ADMK has faced a debacle, Edappadi Palaniswami has won his Edappadi constituency with a huge margin and Panneerselvam had also won Bodinayakkanur with a razor-thin margin. 

While several ministers were defeated, some ministers had tasted the victory, and when DMK is getting close to form the new government, the ADMK is getting close to facing a new challenge between the top two leaders over who will replace MK Stalin as the opposition leader in the assembly. It must be noted that the BJP will be entering the Tamil Nadu assembly for the first time in twenty years as four of its candidates had secured a victory from their respective constituencies.