'Finally, the day arrives': GV Prakash Kumar opens up for the first time after winning a National Award!

Well-renowned music director GV Prakash Kumar is in the seventh heaven after being conferred with a National Award for his background score in the movie 'Soorarai Pottru', starred by Suriya and helmed by Sudha Kongara. The movie had a direct OTT release in November 2020 and along with GV Prakash, the movie has bagged the most awards in the award event that was held on Friday - July 22. 

Reacting to the honour, GV Prakash has thanked the Soorarai Pottru team for the opportunity. Opening up about the honour for the first time, the music director has issued a statement on social media in which he said, "One day you will make it big...One day you will win...one day everything will happen the way you want...And after a long wait, finally, the day arrives..." 

He further said, "Thank you universe, thank you all...Big thanks to my father Venkatesh and my entire family including Saindhavi, Bhavani, and Anvi for all that they have given me. Big thanks to team Soorarai Pottru, director Sudha Kongara, Suriya sir, 2D (Entertainment), and Rajasekar Pandian for giving me the opportunity to perform. Special thanks to all my musicians and my team, engineer production Jehovahson...an important day in my life." 

Interestingly, actor Suriya has won the National Award for the first time in his decades-long cinematic career, which has marked a stupendous breakthrough in his already-celebrating career. The actor was conferred with the prestigious award for his impressive acting in the movie 'Soorarai Pottru', which has set a glorious milestone by bagging more awards in the National Film Awards. 

The 68th National Film Awards ceremony was held in Delhi and it was organized by the Directorate of Film Festivals which comes under the Union Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The ceremony has drawn massive attention from across the country and significantly, the blockbuster Tamil movie 'Soorarai Pottru' helmed by Sudha Kongara has been turning heads by achieving humongous recognition from the National Awards event. 

The Tamil movie industry has bagged ten National Awards and of these ten, five awards were bestowed upon Soorarai Pottru and the movie team is on cloud nine for these national honours. Besides Soorarai Pottru, the other Tamil movies that made up the list include Yogi Babu starred 'Mandela' and Parvathy starred 'Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum'. 

The awards were announced on the Press Information Bureau India's YouTube channel and Facebook page at 4 pm on Friday. As per the announcement, Soorarai Pottru actors Suriya and Aparna Balamurali won the National Awards for best actors. Suriya has shared the award of the Best Actor with Bollywood star Ajay Devgn for the movie 'Tanhaji', which was released in 2020.

As the awards were revealed, the recipients have been flooded with wishes from across and beyond the borders. By bagging the most number of awards, the Tamil movie industry has been celebrating the glorious milestone and the Tamil fans are relishing the announcements and extending their commendations to the recipients. Taking to Twitter, Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Anurag Thakur wrote, "I congratulate all the award winners; their work represents a holistic flavour of Indian cinema spanning regions & languages. I also extend my appreciation for the transparency, hard work & depth brought in by the eminent jury." 

It is pertinent to note that the Directorate of Film Festivals had invited online entries and the acceptable last date for entries was until March 12, 2021. Feature and Non-Feature Films certified by the Central Board of Film Certification between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020 were eligible for the film award categories.