First order from Siddharamaiah as Karnataka Chief Minister...Implements that five guarantees of Congress!

After becoming Chief Minister of Karnataka, Siddharamaiah has on Saturday said that his government has issued orders to implement five guarantees that the Congress party has promised during the campaign trail for the assembly election, that was held on May 10. The results were announced on May 13 and the party had recorded a landslide victory. 

The Congress party has promised that five main guarantees - 200 units of free power to all households, Rs 2,000 monthly assistance to the woman head of every family, 10 kg of rice free to every member of BLP household, Rs 3,000 every month for unemployed graduate and Rs 1,500 for unemployed diploma holders for two years and free travel for women in public transport buses, will be implemented at the first cabinet meeting if the party is elected to power. 

On Saturday- May 20, veteran Congress leader Siddharamaiah has taken oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka and as promised, Siddharamaiah, during his first cabinet meeting, has issued orders to implement all the five guarantees. Addressing the press briefing after the cabinet meeting, he said, "Five guarantees in the manifesto were promised and the order for the implementation of those five guarantees was given after the first cabinet meeting." 

"All will be in force after the next cabinet meeting which will be called within a week", Siddharamaiah added. It has been reported that the first Legislative Assembly session under the current Congress government will be held on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday next week. While Siddharamaiah took oath as the 24th Chief Minister of Karnataka, senior Congress leader and state Congress unit chief DK Shivakumar has become the Deputy Chief Minister. 

Along with Siddharamaiah and DK Shivakumar, eight Congress MLAs were sworn in as ministers in the Karnataka cabinet and Governor Thawar Chand Gehlot had administered the oath of office to them in the swearing-in ceremony that was held at Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru. Several national leaders and Chief Ministers of various states had attended the ceremony as the Congress party has got a new turning point for its political course ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.