Gujarat election results: Ravindra Jadeja's wife Rivaba takes a major lead after a minor setback!

Indian cricketer Ravindra Jadeja's wife Rivaba Jadeja, who contested in the BJP ticket in the Gujarat assembly polls, has taken a major lead in the race and poses a strong possibility of entering the assembly for the first time. Gujarat went to the polls in two phases on December 1 and 5 and the votes were counted on Thursday- December 8. 

Rivaba Jadeja is a star candidate of BJP and contested from the Jamnagar North constituency. When the votes were gone for a counting, Rivaba had a minor setback during the early counting where she stood at the third place, behind Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) candidate Karshanbhai Karmur and Congress candidate Bipendrasinh Jadeja. 

However, as the counting progressed further, Rivaba began to overturn the trend and took a major lead in a key race. The latest data has shown that she has secured a comfortable lead over her next contender with a margin of 50,000 votes and she is expected to make a record-breaking political debut in Gujarat. Such comfortable leads are rampant across Gujarat as the BJP candidates are a way ahead in the tally with BJP is all set to rule the state for the next years by recording a landslide victory. 

According to the latest data from the Election Commission, Rivaba Jadeja has secured 84,336 votes while her immediate rival AAP's Karmur has got 33,880 votes. Congress is in the third spot as its candidate has bagged 22,822 votes. The official election results have displayed that BJP is just 20 seats away to cross the majority mark.  

Gujarat has 182 assembly seats and the party that crosses the majority mark of 92 seats will rule the state. Earlier, the exit polls predictions asserted that the BJP will have a magnificent majority and will form the government for the sixth consecutive time. As per the predictions, the saffron party was leading from the beginning and it is close to shattering its own record by winning more seats. 

By the time of writing this content, BJP has won in 71 seats while leading in 87 seats. It is 21 seats away from touching the majority mark while the Congress is facing a disastrous defeat as it has won only six seats. It is a big blow to the grand old party in five years as it has won 77 seats in the 2017 assembly polls. On the other hand, AAP has won two seats and leading in two seats so far. Hailing the triumph, the BJP cadres have been celebrating across the country and Prime Minister Modi will be leading the celebrations in Delhi later on Thursday.