How many seats the parties are leading in TN? Here's the party wise break up!

The vote counting in Tamil Nadu has been intensely progressing towards the next episodes of the counting process by unveiling the people's choice to rule the state for the next five years. The vote-counting had commenced at 8 am on Sunday under the ambit of the complete lockdown and the DMK alliance has been leading in the state since the counting began. 

The Election Commission has installed 75 centers to count the votes and initially, the postal ballots were counted and the process has been advanced for counting the votes registered in the EVMs. Tamil Nadu had recorded over 70% of the voter turnouts amid the strong prevalence of the anti-incumbency wave and it also had witnessed five fronts in the race for the reign. 

Though the counting would last till the evening, the result will come to sight in the afternoon, and the development displays that there would be a close final margin, which would power ADMK to sit as a strong opposition party if it losses the race. As of 11.30 am, the DMK alliance has a lead in 132 constituencies while the ADMK alliance had a lead in 102 seats. Let's take a look at the party-wise break up of how many seats the political parties have a lead in Tamil Nadu, 

DMK and its alliance (as of 11.30 am), 

  • DMK - 108 seats
  • Congress - 12 seats
  • Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi - 3 seats
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) - 2 seats
  • Communist Party of India - 2 seats
  • MDMK- 3 seats. 
  • Others - 2 seats. 

ADMK and its alliance: 

  • ADMK - 87 seats
  • BJP - 5 seats
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi - 9 seats
  • Others - 1 seat.
  • Tamil Mannila Congress - 0

As of 11.30 am, ADMK's Edappadi Palaniswami has been holding a lead in the Edappadi constituency. He has been going ahead in the race faster than his contender DMK's Sampathkumar. Palaniswami has secured 40,950 votes, 26,961 votes more than Sampathkumar who got 13,989 votes. While Palaniswami holds a decent margin, Deputy Chief Minister Panneerselvam is witnessing a close race in Bodinayakkanur against DMK's Thanga Tamilselvan. 

Around 15 ADMK Ministers lead in their respective constituencies while seven other ministers have been trailing. On the other hand, DMK President MK Stalin sees a victory in sight in Kolathur so is Kamal Haasan in Coimbatore South. According to reports, ADMK has been doing good in the Kongu belt (Western region), where it holds the stronghold while DMK is doing better in Northern Tamil Nadu including Chennai. 

On the front of the zone-wise break-up, DMK has been leading in 32 seats while ADMK leads in 19 seats in Southern Tamil Nadu. In Northern Tamil Nadu, DMK leads in 57 constituencies and ADMK holds a lead in 43 seats. In Central Tamil Nadu, DMK leads in 32 seats while ADMK leads in nine seats while ADMK leads in 29 constituencies and DMK leads in 12 seats in Western Tamil Nadu. 

The vote counting has been going at a slow pace and according to the latest reports, the DMK alliance has taken the lead in 142 seats while the ADMK alliance has been holding the lead in 91 seats. While Makkal Needhi Maiam holds the lead in one seat - Coimbatore South where Kamal Haasan contested, Dhinakaran's AMMK and Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi are still yet to open their accounts. 


Know the right choice of people and know the right news! Stay with TheNewStuff as we bring you the election results in Tamil Nadu and four other crucial states.