Kamal Haasan arrives in Coimbatore South: Check who leads in this constituency!

The Coimbatore South constituency is one of the star constituencies in Tamil Nadu to earn more spotlight over the tight battle. Though the constituency was under the watch list across the state for being the choice of actor-turned-politician Kamal Haasan to enter the state assembly, it also had been on the list of keenly watched races in the state.

When Kamal Haasan came to the race track, he witnessed BJP's National Women Wing President Vanathi Srinivasan and Congress's Mayura Jayakumar besides him and the intense run between the three had triggered more expectations over who would hold the edge to finish big. While Kamal Haasan hoped to have a political breakthrough in his very first election, Vanathi Srinivasan aimed to enter the assembly under the BJP ticket, and Mayura Jayakumar believed that the pro-DMK wave would take him to the shore safely.  

The elections were held in Tamil Nadu on April 6 and the vote counting had begun on Sunday at 8 am when the state entered into a complete lockdown. As per the electoral procedures, the postal ballots were counted first and minutes into the commencement of the counting, the state had gone through the moments that were in respite for some leaders and shock for others. 

As the counting has been underway in Coimbatore South and across the state, Kamal Haasan had arrived in his constituency in the morning hours of Sunday, and the pictures of his exiting from the Coimbatore airport were shared on social media. When Kamal Haasan started from Chennai, the Coimbatore South was in his favor, and moments after he landed in Coimbatore, he witnessed a sudden setback from the constituency. 

According to reports, the sudden change in the counts in Coimbatore South was made possible by the lead of Congress candidate Mayura Jayakumar. However, by the time of writing this content, Kamal Haasan had again taken the lead in Coimbatore South in the margin of over 500 votes. Kamal Haasan has secured 7,074 votes and Mayura Jayakumar has got 6,540 votes. BJP's Vanathi Srinivasan could possibly concede a defeat as she has secured nearly 3000 votes. 

Kamal's Makkal Needhi Maiam was predicted to win two seats - Coimbatore South - Kamal Haasan and Singanallur - Mahendran, who is the vice-president of the party. While Vanathi Srinivasan trails, Tamil Nadu BJP President Murugan leads in Dharapuram. By the time of writing his content, the DMK alliance leads in 129 constituencies and the ADMK alliance leads in 104 constituencies. 

While it has been displayed that the fight is between the two Dravidian parties, Kamal's Makkal Needhi Maiam has got one lead while Dhinakaran's AMMK, and Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi are yet to open their accounts. The DMK alliance has crossed the majority mark of 118 in lead and if the current trends continue, we can expect that Stalin will swear in as the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. 

Know the right choice of people and know the right news! Stay with TheNewStuff as we bring you the election results in Tamil Nadu and four other crucial states.