No trouble for BJP: How Jagdeep Dhankhar can savour a comfortable win in the Vice President polls?

Days after electing the new President, India is all set to welcome the new Vice President in a few days as the polling for the nation's second highest office has commenced at 10 am on Saturday - August 6 and apparently, the voting is underway with the already known result. The polling is happening at the Parliament premises and it will be held till 5 pm.

In the midst of the race, the nation has a clear sight of BJP candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar's victory. Unlike the Presidential polls that have the electoral college comprised of state legislators along with the MPs due to which the candidates had an extensive campaign tour across the country to seek the vote from the legislators, the vice presidential poll for the BJP is like a cakewalk as the party has a good majority in the Parliament. 

The electoral college to elect the Vice President consists only of the MPs and not the MLAs and armed with more favourable votes, BJP-led NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar is all set to savour a comfortable victory in the polls and become the nation's next Vice President. While Dhankhar, the former Governor of West Bengal, was the candidate of the ruling coalition, the opposition parties jointly fielded Margaret Alva as their candidate. 

As the voting is underway, 788 MPs of both the Houses of Parliament will be casting their votes and since all the electors are members of either of the two houses, the value of the vote of each MP is one and who gets more votes would be the winner. The math behind the election suggests that Dhankhar will defeat Alva and triumph in the race. Dhankhar was a surprise pick by the BJP while the incumbent Venkaiah Naidu sought a second term in office and it was also speculated that former Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi would be the BJP's candidate.

BJP-led NDA's combined strength of MPs from both the Houses is 445, which is more than the majority mark. Notably, Dhankhar is expected to win the votes of two-thirds of MPs as several regional parties including BSP, TDP, YSR Congress, ADMK, BJD, and Shiv Sena have extended their support to the BJP's candidate and it is expected that Dhankhar would get around 515 votes out of 788 members while opposition's Margaret Alva would end the race by garnering 200 votes. 

Alva can't reap the votes of the entire opposition as West Bengal-ruling Trinamool Congress would be refraining from the voting as it has alleged that there was a lack of consultation on the nominee. As Trinamool Congress pulled back, Alva would be losing the votes of 39 Trinamool MPs, which would be a huge setback for her in an already trailing race. 

Earlier, the NDA convened a meeting in which the MPs of the alliance were given a presentation, including a mock voting session, to ensure that no vote loses its count. It has been reported that after the polling, the votes would be counted on Saturday evening after which the returning officer would be announcing the winner, who would be India's next Vice-President.  It must be noted that in the 2017 Vice Presidential polls, BJP candidate Venkaiah Naidu got 516 votes and the base is likely to remain intact for the BJP in the current election.