From PMK to VCK...How many seats the allied parties have won in the TN Elections?

The Election Commission has on Monday officially shared the data of the number of seats that the political parties won in the Tamil Nadu assembly polls. While the real battle was between the ADMK and DMK, the allied parties have kept contributions in taking their fronts forward with a more number of seats than the rivals. 

Tamil Nadu had gone through the crucial assembly polls on April 6 and the state had witnessed five fronts - the ADMK alliance, DMK alliance, Kamal Haasan's Makkal Needhi Maiam, Dhinakaran's AMMK, and Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi, which contested independently. The ADMK alliance had comprised of the BJP, PMK, and GK Vasan's Tamil Maanila Congress, and the DMK alliance comprised of VCK, CPI, CPI(M), MDMK, MMK, and IUML. 

Though there were several allied parties on four fronts, not all the allied parties emerged victorious. The votes were counted on Sunday and the DMK alliance had 159 seats while the ADMK alliance had won the rest of 75 seats. As it has been confirmed that the DMK alliance has won the elections and MK Stalin will become the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, the Election Commission has released the party-wise break up on how many seats each party had secured, and the break-up is listed below,  

DMK alliance - Total 159 seats:

  • DMK - 133 seats
  • Indian National Congress - 18 seats (Erode East, Karaikudi, Killiyoor, Mayiladuthurai, Sholinghur, Sivakasi, Srivaikundam, Tenkasi, Udhagamandalam, Vriddhachalam, Aranthangi, Colachel, Nanguneri, Ponneri, Sriperumbudur, Tiruvaadanai, Velachery, and Vilavancode). 
  • Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi - 4 seats (Kattumannarkoil, Nagapattinam, Thiruporur, and Cheyyur). 
  • Communist Party of India - 2 seats (Thalli and Thiruthuraipoondi). 
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) - 2 seats (Gandarvakkottai and Kilvelur). 
  • Apart from these parties, the rest of the parties in the DMK alliance including MDMK, MMK, and IUML had failed to win a single seat. 

ADMK alliance - 75 seats: 

  • ADMK - 66 seats
  • BJP - 4 seats (Coimbatore South, Nagercoil, Tirunelveli, and Modakkurichi). 
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) - 5 seats (Dharmapuri, Mailam, Mettur, Pennagaram, and Salem West). 
  • Apart from these parties in the ADMK alliance, no other parties in the alliance had shined well. GK Vasan's Tamil Maanila Congress had lost the election without securing a single seat.

Apart from the above parties, the parties like Makkal Needhi Maiam, TTV Dhinakaran's AMMK, Vijayakanth's DMDK, and Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi had lost the elections. On the front of the vote share, the DMK has secured 37.7% of votes and ADMK has got 33.3% of votes. The Congress party has gained 4.27% of votes and the BJP has got 2.62% votes and PMK has secured 3.80% of votes. The DMK is all set to form the next government after a decade and the party alone has gained 133 seats, 15 seats more than the majority mark of 118. 

MK Stalin will be swearing-in as the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on May 7. On Monday, Edappadi Palaniswami has moved his resignation to the Governor to step down from the post of Chief Minister after facing a debacle in the elections. He has wished his successor MK Stalin on getting elected as the Chief Minister.