Political drama in ADMK: EPS and OPS win the race that was run only by them!

On Monday, the ADMK headquarters in Chennai was flooded with hundreds of party cadres and functionaries from across the state to witness the end of the race for the top two posts of the party, which was run by the current two leaders -O Panneerselvam and Edappadi Palaniswami. The party has declared that Panneerselvam and Edappadi Palaniswami were elected unopposed to the posts of coordinator and joint coordinator respectively. 

The election for the top posts was held days after the party's executive committee had made changes to its by-laws in electing the top posts. The party has reiterated that the doors are shut for VK Sasikala as the post of General Secretary has been removed and that the Coordinator and Joint Coordinator enjoy the supreme leadership of the party. The meeting was held last week and exactly a day after the meeting, the party has announced elections for the top two posts. 

As per the recent amendment, the party members, who have membership for five continuous years, can elect the coordinator and joint coordinator by a single vote. However, voting has no business as no one has contested against the top two leaders. On Saturday, both the leaders had filed their nominations for the respective posts and on Monday, the party had declared that both the leaders were elected unopposed. 

Announcing the results on Monday, the party's electoral officer and former Tamil Nadu Minister C Ponnaiyan has said several functionaries, including the headquarters office-bearers, district secretaries, and former ministers had filed papers proposing the names of Panneerselvam and Edappadi Palaniswami for the dual posts. He further said that the nominations from both the leaders were scrutinized on Sunday and since no one has filed nominations to contest, they are declared elected unopposed. 

After the announcement, several leaders had commended Panneerselvam and Palaniswami on getting elected for another term to lead the party. Following the announcement, both the leaders had paid floral tribute to the ADMK leaders MG Ramachandran and J Jayalalithaa on their statues in the party's office. They had then travelled to Marina Beach and paid their respects at the memorial of the stalwarts.