Ponniyin Selvan 1 gets into 16th Asian Film Awards...Six Nominations from Best Original music to Production Design!

(This article is authored by Alar)

With all of their favourite heroes in one Chola story, Maniratnam's magnum opus Ponniyin Selvan 1 quickly became a fan favourite. The epic drama, which premiered on September 30th, 2022, received rave reviews for its stirring score by Isaipuyal and gripping script from every quarter. This film's grandness has reached a new level after being nominated for the 16th Asian Film Awards.

On Saturday, the film's production house shared the relishing news by taking us to Twitter, and penned, "Thrilled that #PS1 has been nominated for six awards at the 16th Asian Film Awards @busanfilmfest Best Film Best Original Music - @arrahman Best Editing- @sreekar_prasad Best Production Design- #ThotaTharani Best Cinematography- @dop_ravivarman Best Costume Design- @ekalakhani"

According to the update, Ponniyin Selvan 1 has been nominated in six categories – Best Film, Sreekar Prasad for Best Editing, Ravi Varman for Best Cinematography, A.R Rahman for Best Original Music, Eka Lakhani for Best Costume Design and Thota Tharani for Best Production Design. Produced by Lyca Productions along with Maniratnam's Madras Talkies, the film has the music composed by A R Rahman.

As per the official update from Asian Film Awards Academy, the award giving ceremony will be held on 12th March at the Hong Kong Palace Museum, where their official post reads, "The press conference of #the16thAsianFilmAwards ended successfully on 6 January. The 16th Asian Film Awards will be held on 12 March (Sunday) at the Hong Kong Palace Museum. We have edited the highlights of the press conference, please sit back and enjoy!".

Vikram, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Jayam Ravi, Karthi, Trisha, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prabhu, R Sarathkumar, Vikram Prabhu, Jayaram, Prakash Raj, Rahman, and R Parthiban make up the ensemble cast of "Ponniyin Selvan," also known as "PS-1." The mega-multistarrer's technical crew, including Ravi Varman, who handled the camera, A. Sreekhar Prasad, who served as the editor, and Thotta Tharani, who handled the production design.