Saffronizing 'Thanthai Periyar' in TN! Latest action of police against the right-wing member!

Days after the detention of the right-wing member for reportedly desecrating Dravidian Stalwart and social reformer 'Thanthai Periyar' statue in Coimbatore, the Coimbatore district police has, on Tuesday, slapped the case against the detained member under the grounds of the National Security Act (NSA). 

Coimbatore City police commissioner Sumit Sharan has issued the order of invoking NSA against the member and he further asserted that the strict action would be initiated against everyone who attempts to cause damage to the communal harmony in the city, regardless of the party and outfit they belong to. 

According to the reports, the detention member was 21-year-old Arun Krishnan, who is the south district organizer of Bharat Sena in Coimbatore. On July 17, the city rose up with tensions after the Periyar statue at Sundarapuram in Coimbatore was found dishonored and vandalized as the miscreants pour saffron paint on the statue. The incident sparked protests from the Dravidian leaders and followers and they urged the police to detain the responsible behind the act. 

Following the development, the police detained Arun Krishnan and booked him under sections 153 - intense to cause a riot, 153A - promoting enmity, section 504 - intent to provoke breach of the peace of the Indian Penal Code and he was lodged in Coimbatore Central Prison.

According to the police, Arun Krishnan has desecrated Periyar's statue to counter the demeaning statements and remarks made by Karuppar Koottam Youtube channel against Lord Murugan and the devotional song 'Kandha Sashti Kavacham'.  However, Bharat Sena has denied its involvement in the act. 

On the other side, the Tamil Nadu Cybercrime police had detained four members associated with the Karuppar Koottam channel following the complaint filed by the Tamil Nadu BJP unit in which the party stated that the channel had made derogatory remarks against   Kandha Sashti Kavacham which hurt the religious sentiments. Of these four, two members - Senthil Vasan and Surendra Natarajan were slapped under the grounds of the Goondas Act.