The Super Kings of IPL: CSK decorates the IPL title for the fourth time with a magnificent comeback!

The battle, fun and emotions were all set to end with a thrilling final in the 2021 edition of the IPL at Dubai. It was the Chennai Super Kings and the Kolkata Knight Riders who were the finalists with plenty of dreams to lift the trophy this year. Much had been speculated about the favourite team of the season but honestly both the teams deserved to win the title as they had a galore of talents and grit. The stats suggested that the chasing teams won more on this venue and with this mind game, the KKR won the toss and decided to take the field first in the big finals. 

Both the teams came to the battlefield with a determination of unleashing the real fight. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis came to the crease and pitched a promising opening stand. The duo gave a great opening partnership for the Chennai Super Kings scoring 61 runs together. Ruturaj was dismissed for 32 runs becoming the highest run-scorer in the series. Robin Uthappa scored a quickfire 31 from just 15 deliveries. Moeen Ali joined the in-form Faf du Plessis once Uthappa got out. Faf was at his prime form and rattled the KKR bowlers from the first over till the last.

He scored a FAFulous 86 runs from 59 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes. Moeen Ali scored a sensible 37 runs. Each and every batsman from the CSK contributed to the team in this super important final that enabled CSK to score a mammoth 193 runs in their 20 overs for the loss of 3 wickets. Though Dubai was friendly for chasing, the weakest middle-order batting line-up of KKR again proved to be a flaw for the team. The fans across and beyond the borders had a nail-biting match with sudden twists and turns. 

Every cricket fan expected an opening with fighting spirit from the KKR and rightly so. The KKR openers gave a fantastic start with Venkatesh Iyer making batting look so simple. He scored runs from every corner of the ground and utilized his second chance very well after being dropped by Dhoni at the very beginning of his innings. With Shubman Gill giving him excellent support with a half-century, the KKR were cruising along with 91 for no loss. It was at a stage that CSK is losing control over the game and the wind was breezing towards the Knight Riders to help sail them towards victory.

However, the rocking bowling line-up of CSK had applied a strong break and impressively contained KKR from chasing the target. After the dismissal of Gill and Iyer, KKR started to collapse and it was a huge one. Venkatesh Iyer was dismissed for 50 runs and the entire middle order followed in quick succession. No batsman could sustain in the crease and from 91 for no loss, the KKR went to a stage where they were 125 for 8 with every recognized batsman dismissed.

The lower order showed some promise but it was not enough and nothing helped the chasers. When Kolkata was in a need of 50 runs from three overs, it's over for them and the winner was apparent. The chasers were to get 30 runs in the final over and Bravo made sure that the trophy is coming home with the CSK. The KKR were reduced to 165 for 9 in their 20 overs and Chennai Super Kings won by 27 runs in a historical victory, lifting the IPL trophy for the fourth time. Faf du Plessis was adjudged the Player of the Match and Harshal Patel was the Player of the Series.

It was jubilation and emotion all around the CSK camp and the fans of CSK, as much as they wanted to see Dhoni lifting the trophy, was waiting to hear his words about his continuation with the franchise. When Harsha Bhogle asked him about it straight during the presentation, Dhoni was a bit unsure about whether he could continue as a player for the CSK as the entire IPL would be undergoing many changes in the coming year. When Harsha said Dhoni has left a legacy behind the CSK, he was quick to interrupt him saying "I still haven't left behind". These words made the day for the millions of CSK fans around the world, more than CSK winning the trophy.

The crackers had decorated not only the skies of Dubai but also in Chennai and across the country as the fans had celebrated the glorifying victory and winning the IPL title after three years. Dhoni's fleet had been successful from the beginning and his captaincy had a sharp adoption of changing circumstances in the UAE leg and displayed the super game and super treat till winning the title. There were several game-changing moments in the finals with Jadeja's bowling and excellent catches and Bravo's well-contained deliveries in his first two overs. 

The brilliant show and historical victory were enough for the fans to celebrate the roaring comeback of Dhoni's fleet and wishes have been pouring in for the team from across the country and several political leaders too became a fanboy of the finals and commended the CSK for becoming the Champions of IPL 2021. CSK had made its appearance in the IPL finals for the ninth time including the current year and won four times and it also had repaid KKR for the finals defeat in 2012. Social media has gone yellow following CSK's victory. While it was a happy night for the CSK fans, it was a happy dawn for the team, and a happy new year for the IPL trophy.