TN Election results: EPS leads in Edappadi...What about OPS and Stalin?

The vote counting in Tamil Nadu is taking place under the ambit of complete lockdown for the first time in its history for the first legislative election since the demise of political giants Karunanidhi and Jayalalithaa. Though the state is deserted, it is no less short of expectations over the results and the initial countings had risen many eyebrows across the state with a close race between the rivals. 

The vote counting had begun at 8 am on Sunday and as per the electoral procedure, the postal ballots were first to get counted and the state has been witnessing the latest developments over who leads the election amid the counting. Though there were five fronts in the race, the fight for the reign is between Edappadi Palaniswami and DMK President MK Stalin. 

Though the exit polls had predicted that the ADMK alliance would face a debacle, the postal ballots had poured some relief to some of the ADMK leaders as they have been leading in their respective constituencies. According to reports, Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami leads in his home Edappadi constituency, and by the time of writing the contest, he has secured 5,484 votes, 3,325 votes more than his opponent DMK's Sampath Kumar who has got 2,159 votes. 

Along with Edappadi Palaniswami, his deputy and ADMK's Chief Coordinator Panneerselvam has also been leading in his Bodinayakkanur constituency. In what has become a great sign of respite, Panneerselvam holds the edge against much expected DMK's Thanga Tamilselvan. By the time of writing this content, Panneerselvam has secured 2,520 votes, 363 votes more than Thanga Tamilselvan, who has got 2,157 votes.

Besides the top two leaders, senior ADMK leaders like C Vijayabaskar (Viralimalai), Thangamani (Kumarapalayam), MR Vijayabaskar (Karur) have been leading in their constituencies. All three had contested against the DMK candidates and the initial counting shows that minister Rajendra Balaji has been trailing in Rajapalayam. 

On the other side, DMK President MK Stalin has been leading in the Kolathur constituency. He has secured 3,199 votes by the time of writing this content and he has been hoping that the predictions of the exit polls would come true. The exit polls had projected that the DMK alliance would win the elections and if it comes true, Kolathur would become the Chief Ministerial constituency. 

According to reports, DMK's General Secretary Durai Murugan has been facing a setback in the initial round of countings as he has got 3,077 votes, 398 votes less than ADMK's Ramu. The vote counting has been taking place in 75 centers across Tamil Nadu and though the counting would last till the evening, the result will come to sight in the afternoon. By the time of writing this content, the DMK led alliance leads in 132 seats and the ADMK alliance leads in 96 seats.  The DMK alliance has crossed the majority mark of 118 in lead and if the current trends continue, we can expect that Stalin will swear in as the next Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. 

Know the right choice of people and know the right news! Stay with TheNewStuff as we bring you the election results in Tamil Nadu and four other crucial states.