Ulaga Nayagan comes to the Cholas empire: What's the role of Kamal Haasan in Ponniyin Selvan?

(This article is authored by Alar) 

Mani Ratnam's magnum opus Ponniyin Selvan 1 has been slated for a theatrical release on September 30, 2022, and the movie team has been captivating the fans and audiences by releasing massive updates and posters of an ensemble cast. After the big update unveiling the movie's teaser, the fans are relishing the bigger one as Ulaga Nayagan has entered the world of Ponniyin Selvan.

For the first time in 35 years, to be precise since the release of the movie Nayakan, Kamal Haasan collaborates with Mani Ratnam. However, Kamal Haasan is not acting in Ponniyin Selvan as according to reports, the legendary actor has lent his voice to the movie's introduction. He has completed giving voice for the portion on Wednesday- July 13. 

While a picture of Kamal Haasan in a dubbing room has become the talk of the town, the makers of the movie are yet to make an official announcement concerning Kamal Haasan's collaboration. In 2019, he has already given the narration for Megastar Chiranjeevi's 'Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy'. Ponniyin Selvan is set in the tenth century during the Chola dynasty.  

Ponniyin Selvan I is an impending period action drama film that comes with an unprecedented cluster of stars. The film carries a proficient club of actors like Vikram, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Jayam Ravi, Karthi, Trisha, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prabhu, R. Sarathkumar, Vikram Prabhu, Jayaram, Prakash Raj, Rahman, magnetised and R. Parthiban. The music is composed by A. R. Rahman, with cinematography handled by Ravi Varman, editing done by A. Sreekar Prasad and production design by Thota Tharani. 

On July 8, this historical film, 'Ponniyin Selvan' revealed the teaser and magnetised fans from every corner. The highly anticipated movie will be released officially on September 30. And Amazon Prime Video bagged the digital streaming rights for the movie for Rs. 125 crores. The movie will be released in five languages - Tamil, Telugu, Hindi, Malayalam, and Kannada.