TCR is now BCR! K Chandrashekhar Rao launches new name for his Telangana Rashtra Samiti Party...

(This article is authored by Alar)

Telangana Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samiti President K Chandrasekhar Rao launched the Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS), the new name of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), on Wednesday, signifying his first move toward the political conflict with the BJP ruling party ahead of the 2024 elections. This move made the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), which was launched in April, 2000, a national party.

At a meeting of district-level coordinators, MPs, MLAs, MLCs, and party leaders held at Telangana Bhavan in Hyderabad on Wednesday at 1:19 p.m. Party leaders chanted "TRS and KCR Zindabad" while party members endorsed the name change during the general body meeting. Chants of "Desh ke neta KCR" echoed, and similar phrases could be seen on posters. Many banners featured the phrases "Desh ke neta KCR," "Dear India he is coming," and "KCR is on the way."

TRS made its mark on the political landscape by winning 26 assembly seats and five Lok Sabha seats in the 2004 elections while working in coalition with the Congress. Chandrashekhar Rao decided to enter another battle after eight years of successful leadership, which led to his advancement through the recognition of a new national party.

Dalit leader Thirumavalavan and two other MPs from Tamil Nadu's Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) were also present. Upon their arrival, KCR, TRS working president KT Rama Rao, and others arrived, including former Karnataka chief minister H D Kumaraswamy."The idea is to put up a united fight against the BJP. Basically, it's a combination of various regional parties who want to rise above their political differences and come together," the JD(S) leader said.

Thirumavalavan on his Twitter handle stated that he was in Hyderabad at Rao's invitation for the BRS launch. Rao's efforts to focus on the federal level were praised by the man. The DMK, which is in charge in Tamil Nadu, has the VCK as an ally.  Founded on 27 April 2001,  the party won 11 seats, in the 2014 elections, making it the eighth largest party in Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Indian Parliament.

Mr Rao (KCR) also met with a series of political leaders including his counterparts in other states including Arvind Kejriwal of Delhi and MK Stalin of Tamil Nadu and Pinarayi Vijayan of Kerala.